Finding your ideal match – writing partners

tag_teamI’m making slow, but some, progress on writing my play. I could list my reasons for the snail-like pace of writing, but they’re just excuses so I won’t even bother (see my previous post on procrastination). The point of this blog post is that during my periods of inactivity I have felt that perhaps a writing partner would produce the impetus, motivation or ideas that I need in order to get things moving again.

But on the reverse of the coin, I also think there are downsides to a writing partner. As I’m the type of person who likes to weigh thinks up in order to make a decision, I made myself a list of reasons for and against recruiting a writing partner.

Reasons For:

  1. Someone to push me when I’m being lazy
  2. A partner who can help when I’m suffering from writer’s block
  3. A saviour who can come up with a punchline to my story.
  4. A more experienced writer to provide a solution to a script problem
  5. Someone to guide me who has more knowledge of script presentation and preparation
  6. An alternative (and complementary) point of view or perspective on the emerging story, or to add a different ‘voice’ to the script and characters
  7. Surely two brains, means twice the productivity.

Jean-Pierre Jeunet who wrote Amelie with Guillaume Laurant said “Guillaume is very good with dialogue, so he writes the dialogue scenes and I write the visual scenes; it’s like a game of ping-pong.”

Reasons Against:

  1. What if we simply don’t agree?
  2. How do I find someone who thinks like I do and shares my humour?
  3. What if their ambitions are different to mine?
  4. This is MY story, I’m not sure I want to share the kudos, glory and certain fame that will come my way when it makes it to the West End/Broadway.

I think, for me, I can envisage writing with a close friend, who I already have a very natural rapport with and who shares my interests and sense of humour. Someone who knows when I want to discuss things and when I need silence. A friend who can give me a gentle reminder that I haven’t written for a while, but not be too pushy when I’m tired or not feeling too creative. I guess what I really want is…another me!

So for the time being I will carry on independently. However, if after reading this you are in favour of seeking out your ideal partner on the internet you could try these websites for further reading:

NaNoWriMo Tip #21: How To Find a Writing Partner

http://www.writersstore.com/finding-the-right-writing-partner/

http://iainbroome.com/how-to-find-your-perfect-writing-partner

http://absolutewrite.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=56e2adcc826f7db5e8c5954747805461&f=30

2 thoughts on “Finding your ideal match – writing partners

  1. One other reason I found to argue against collaboration: level of dedication to a project. I started working on a script with a partner, and our levels–and our approaches, for that matter–were not very compatible. As a result the project fizzled within a month. I think we both lost some respect for the other because of this, which is really the worst part.

    Everything’s a gamble, though, right? Sometimes magic is made.

    • That’s a shame it didn’t work out. I guess the trick is to find the right partner for you. The partnership has to be right otherwise, like you say, no magic.

      Thanks for your comment Eliza.

Leave a Reply

